Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) handles all driver and vehicle services in State. Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles office of Department of Secretary of State was set up for public safety. To serve residents of State and all users of Maine highways by qualifying and licensing driver’s and by maintaining records of driver history. Here is a simple guide to getting Maine driver’s license.
How to Apply for a New Driver’s License in Maine
In Maine, Bureau of Motor Vehicles office, can process, name and address changes on things like car registration. In Maine, driver education is required for a permit and a license if the applicant is younger than 18. The learner’s permit holding period and the certification of practice driving apply to license applicants younger than 21.
What is Maine State license age eligibility?
- 15 years old for learner’s permit
- 16 years old for Intermediate driver’s license
If you are younger than 21 years old, you can apply for driver’s license
- Once you have held an instruction permit for at least 6 months
- Complete 70 hours of driving practice including 10 hours at night
You can apply for your unrestricted ME driver’s license once you have
- Held your intermediate license for 270 days without violating any restrictions or
- Held your provisional license for 2 years without receiving any moving violation convictions.
What are fees for Maine Driver’s license?
Driver’s license fees
- Under Age 65 – 6 year license -$30.00
- Age 65 or Older – 4 years license – $21.00
Out-of State transfer
- Application form fees – $35
- Driver’s license fee – $30
Types of Maine Driver’s Licenses
Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) offers different classes of driver’s licenses depending on type of vehicle you wish to drive on public roads. If you want to obtain Maine drivers license need to fill out form and submit driver’s license application at local Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicle office.
- Class A and B – this license issues for Commercial drivers license (CDL).
- Class C driver license – permit driver to run Standard driver’s license with certain restrictions
What is States of Maine Graduated licensing?
For everyone’s safety, new drivers must run under special rules when they get their first license. State of Maine requires three-step licensing system for teen drivers under age of 18 years. Maine law includes restrictions for drivers under 21 years of age. This law wishes to allow Maine’s young people to gain driving experience with risk reducing restriction in place.
First license issued to new applicant under 21 years of age is provisional for period of 2 years and 1 year for persons at least 21 years of age. This States of Maine Graduated program consist of 3 stages
- Learner’s Permit
- Intermediate Driver’s License
- Unrestricted Driver’s License
Maine Instruction Permit
State of Maine instruction permit is available to teen drivers at age of 15. You can apply for Maine learners permit at Bureau of Motor Vehicle office. If you are less than 16 years of age must complete driver education class. After fulfill these requirements, you need to take Maine permit test to prove that your are no stranger to Maine driving rules.
But you must complete State of Maine approved driver education course. In addition you must pass vision screening test written knowledge test. Once you received Maine learners permit you can start driving with another adult driver supervising you.
What are the Maine learner’s Permit restrictions?
Learners permit does not grant you full driving privileges and you should always view all permit restrictions that are imposed. You must have a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old seated next to you at all times
Maine Learners Permit less than 21 Years of Age
If you are under 21, you must hold your Maine instructional permit for at least 6 months to applying for road test. After this period, you can schedule your driver’s license test and receive Maine driver’s license upon successful completion of driving exam.
- Learners permit holders are not allowed to use cellular phone while driving in State of Maine.
- You must complete 70 hours of driving and 10 of hours must be done in night
- While driving with permit you may only run motor vehicle with licensed driver who is at least 20 years old and has had valid driver’s license for minimum of two years.
Maine Learners Permit 21 years of age or Older
- If you are 21 years of age or older do not have to wait 6 months before applying for road test.
- You are not allowed to use cell phone while they are driving.
How to Get a Maine Learner’s Permit?
There are two ways to apply for Maine driver’s permit. All drivers who are under 18 old are required to take driver’s education course. Once driver has completed course they may apply for their learners permit through mail. Following items must be included.
You must be at least 15 years of age to apply.
- Application form
- Provide proof of completing state-approved drivers ED course.
- Complete 70 hours of behind the wheel experience, 10 of which must be conducted at night.
- Pass written knowledge exam, and vision screening.
- Present documents that confirm your identity, birth date, Social Security Number and state residency.
- Pay $35 fees
This application can be submitted at your local Bureau of Motor Vehicles branch or you can mailed to below address
Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Driver License Services Division
29 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0029
Note – These restrictions are in effect for period of 270 days from passing road test. Violation of conditions of these restrictions will in license suspension and 270 day extension of restrictions which may extend beyond 18th birthday
How to get an Intermediate Maine Driver License?
After holding Instruction Permit for at least six months, Maine Intermediate License is available to drivers who are at least 16 years old. You must require to have completed 35 hours of supervised practice driving, 5 of which must be at night. Then, you need to complete successful road test, license will be issued.
What are Maine Intermediate License Restrictions under age of 18?
Drivers with an Intermediate License have following driving restrictions
Apart from for family, you may not carry passengers unless go by licensed driver who is at least 20 years old and has held valid license for past two years driving experience. Licensed driver must sit next to you and need to take control of vehicle if necessary
- You may not operate vehicle between hours of 12 am and 5 am
- You may not operate motor vehicle while using cellular phone
- Maine Intermediate License must be held for at least 180 days before you receive an unrestricted license.
During first two years of having license, any violation will suspended for 30-day for first fault and longer suspensions for following offense. If you are convicted of violation any of these restrictions 180-day waiting period will start new from date of violation.
These restrictions last for 180 days. If you are caught breaking these rules, restricted period will be extended for another 180 days. If above requirements are met, you will issue with driver’s license. If you are under age of 18, your license is restricted and you have to observe following rules.
State of Maine Full Driver License
You must be minimum of 16 years of age. If you are under age of 18 must have completed State of Maine approved driver education course. Also you must pass knowledge test, road test and vision screening. You are under age of 21 must complete minimum of 35 hours of driving practice, 5 of driving practice must be nighttime driving.
This mandatory driving practice will take place after teen driver has been issued an instruction permit. Again, if you are younger than 21 years old must hold provisional license for 2 years before obtaining full license. Drivers 21 years old and over must hold their provisional license for 1 year. You held your intermediate Maine driver’s license for 270 days without violating any restrictions you can apply for your full unrestricted new driver’s license.
How to Apply for Driver’s License in Maine?
To get driver license in Maine, you must visit your local Bureau of Motor Vehicle to give necessary documentation. New drivers license must be prepared to provide following documents
- Learner’s permit
- Submit application form
- Proof you are Maine resident
- Proof of US citizenship and legal presence
- Provide your Social Security number (if not already on file with Secretary of State)
- Pass vision, knowledge and driving test
- pay $30 fee
If you are under 18 years of age, you need to provide proof that you have successfully completed certified driver’s education course. If you’re not sure what document you want to bring as proof of any of above will be acceptable, contact BMV for confirmation.
If you are under 18, your Maine driver’s license application will require signature from your parent or legal guardian in order to show consent. Most people find it easier to bring parent with them.
What driver’s education is required?
Maine BMV requires anyone under age of 18 to complete an approved driver’s education course before applying for learner’s permit. This course should include following
- 30 hours of classroom instruction
- 10 hours of driving instruction
However, this course will teach you how to operate motor vehicle safely, importance of understanding rules of road and state traffic laws.
I’m new to Maine. What do I need to know about having my out-of-state driver’s license transferred?
What is process for new resident driver license in Maine?
Once you become Maine resident, you must complete process of having your driver’s license transferred within 30 days in order to avoid fines. You must also be at least 16 years of age and if you are underage to show valid proof that you have completed state-certified driver’s education course.
You must also arrive prepared to show proof of your legal United States presence and proof of your residency in state of Maine. You required surrendering your out-of-state license and passing vision exam. Last but not least, you’ll be asked to pay any and all appropriate fees
How to transfer Out-of-State License to Maine Driver’s License?
- You must be at least 16 years of age to apply for Maine license.
- If you are 16 or 17 and hold valid out-of-state license, you may be required to provide proof of completion of an approved driver education course prior to issuance of Maine license.
- Any out-of-state license must be surrendered at time of issuance of the Maine license.
- Written test is not required if you are applying for passenger car license.
- Any misstatement on license application will result in immediate revocation of your license and your privilege to operate in State of Maine. Furthermore, court action may be taken against you for any misstatement.
- Secretary of State shall not accept application of any minor under age of 18 years for an operator’s license or learner’s permit unless signed by parent or legal guardian having custody of minor or by spouse of minor provided spouse is of age of 18 years or older.
- Any person who has signed application of minor for an operator’s application or learner’s permit may thereafter file with department notarized written request that license or learner’s permit of said minor, be suspended.
- You are responsible for abiding by Maine Motor Vehicle Laws and must become familiar with Maine Motorist Handbook and Study Guide.
How to renewing your Maine driver license?
About 45 days before driver’s license expires, renewal notice is mailed to the driver’s most recent address on file at the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. If you do not notify us of any address change, you may not receive a renewal notice. You must contact our central office in Augusta and renew your license on time. It is unlawful to drive motor vehicle with an expired license.
When will you need to renew Maine license?
Maine driver’s license is good for 6 years if you’re under 65 years of age and 4 years if you are over 65. Approximately 45 days before your license expires, you will receive a reminder notice in the mail alerting you to fact. Your renewal notice will also let you know whether or not you can renew online or need to appear in person instead. Also read http://www.maine.gov/doe/cert/statutes/index.html
How to change your address on Maine Driver license?
It is important to provide change of address information to Maine Secretary of State, Bureau of Motor Vehicles. Maine law requires you to inform Secretary of State within 30 days of any change in your name or address. However, you may convey information in writing mail or visit in-person at BMV branch office and provide details.
Secretary of State office inform drivers related to their licenses by sending them notices, mailed to address they most recently provided to Secretary of State under their obligation to keep that office informed. Department of Secretary of State provides easily accessible information and services to people of Maine. When you go through with process of changing your address with BMV they will let secretary of state know once you are done.
How to get duplicate driver license in Maine State?
There are three ways you can get duplicate driver’s license. You can easily replace your license through online or you can visit to your nearest Bureau of Motor Vehicles office. You can submit request for duplicate copy of your Maine Driver’s license online, by mail or in person at your local Maine BMV office.
If your license is lost or destroyed, you must notify Bureau of Motor Vehicles to apply for duplicate copy. Once notified, Bureau will forward information and material needed to process duplicate license.
- Provide Proof of residency
- Show Proof of physical address
- Social Security Number
- Pay $5 fee
- Provide any two official government documents
What is Maine driving manual?
Maine Motorist manual provides general information about rules of road including getting your license, your physical driving condition, handling emergencies and more. You can access entire Maine Motorist Handbook and Study Guide online at http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/forms/.
Which CDL Licenses are available in Maine?
Three CDL types are available in Maine. As with other states, these are based on weight and type. CDL driver must successfully complete several tests.
- Class A – Class A license allows individuals to drive combination vehicles with trailer weight exceeding 10,000 pounds.
- Class B – With Class B license, individuals can drive single vehicles that exceed 26,000 pounds and combination vehicles with trailers under 10,000 pounds.
- Class C – Class C commercial license allows individuals to drive passengers vans and buses, shuttles, and passenger cars.
For A-C classes, all applicants are required to successfully complete any and all medical examinations prior to general knowledge test and practical driving exam.
What is CDL Eligibility driver license in Maine?
Maine is required to abide by Federal laws on CMV licensing. However, there is some flexibility permitted. State of Maine regularly reviews its state requirements in line with safety requirements and industry changes. Applicants are required to submit to both TSA screening and medical testing.
License and Permits
- Class D license with no penalties for period of two years is required for eligibility for CDL application
- Health checks are required of applicants all CDL classes. This will include eye testing to adjudge sufficient quality of vision
- You will find that many private organizations offer training for applicants to learn to drive CMV prior to their application.
- CDL testing is practical driving skills test following written exam
What is age eligibility of CDL driver license in Maine?
- In Maine, only applicants 18 years or older may apply for CDL
- However, 18-20-year-olds are only able to drive intrastate (within Maine)
- 21-year-olds may drive interstate to and through other states
- Only 21-year-olds and older may drive hazardous material vehicles
Basic Requirements for Commercial Driver’s Permit or License
- Must meet requirements for Maine Driver’s License.
- Certify that you are in agreement with state motor carrier safety regulations.
- Provide valid Medical Examiner’s Certificate. You can obtain one by having licensed medical professional fill out appropriate Medical Examination Report for Commercial Driver Fitness reports. Medical examiner should provide you with Medical Examiner’s Certificate.
- Must have standard non commercial license which has not been revoked and is not under suspension.
- Must not have been convicted of any DWI in previous 24 months.
- Provide proof of identity.
- Provide proof of Maine residency.
- Provide proof of legal presence.
- Provide your Social security number.
How to schedule an appointment for driver license in Maine?
Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles allows you to schedule certain appointments to reduce time. You can read more information on types of appointments you can make and what you need to bring to Bureau of Motor Vehicles. State has offered online services which allow you to complete driver license related from your home.
When you receive your learner permit and also you receive test request card. After completed necessary driver education and you are ready to take road exam. However, you can mail test request card to Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicle main office. To find local office of Maine http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/locations/index.html
Bureau of Motor Vehicles
29 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
What documents you require when inform Bureau of Motor Vehicles?
State of Maine requires you to update your driver license if you have recently moved to new residence. That is because your driver license must remain current address at all times. In most situations, you will need to make physical appearance at your local Bureau of Motor Vehicles branch office in order to change your address.
Upon that visit, there are few documents that you will need to bring with you so as to show proof of new address. For more information about this requirement, please visit our website at (http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/licenses/residency.htm)
- Proof of Birth Certificate
- Proof of Identity
- Proof of new address
- Your current address
Maine Driver license address change via mail
- To change your address on Maine Driver license by mail you will need
- You can change of address filling prescribed form. There is no charge for this. https://www.maine.gov/pfr/consumercredit/…/Name_address_change_form.rtf
- Current address proof if you are out of state
- Pay fee of $5 for license which will show new address. Credit cards (Visa and MasterCard) are accepted for payment.
- You can print out temporary license and new license will be mailed to you within two-three weeks.
Mail the above to:
Bureau of Motor Vehicles
29 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
Find Maine Office of Bureau of Motor Vehicles location and Hours
You can get drivers licenses by visiting one of 13 motor vehicle branch offices throughout the state. Main office is open 8 am to 5.00 pm from Monday through Friday.
All motor vehicle branch office location is open at 8 am to 4.30 pm from Monday through Friday. For all motor vehicle branch office locations check http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/locations/index.html