Maryland has its own driver’s license that allows you to drive in State. You must choose right license depend on age. This page will cover topics dealing with Maryland Driver’s license. You will learn how to get Florida drivers license. Here is Maryland driving licensing process step-by-step explained.
How to get Maryland Driver’s License?
State of Maryland requires everyone who drives to have driver’s license. You can get your first learner’s permit at age of 15 years and 9 months. After you drive successfully with your learner’s permit for 9 months, you can then get provisional license, and regular license. If you have moved into Maryland from another state and you are already licensed, there are some simple steps to obtain Maryland license and turn in your out-of-state license.
What document requires applying for Maryland Driver’s License?
- Visit Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration
- Provide proof of Maryland approved driver education program plus 60 hours of driving with experienced driver
- Proof of identity and date of birth
- Proof of Social Security Number
- Proof of lawful status
- Pass written and driving test
- Pass vision screening
- Pay Maryland Driver’s license fees
What is Maryland Driver’s License Age eligibility?
- Learner’s permit- 15 years and 9 months old.
- Provisional license- 16 1/2 years old.
- Full driver’s license- 18 years old.
Steps to your Maryland Driver’s License
Maryland uses Graduated Licensing System program, which requires new drivers to gain driving experience with experienced driver. State encourages development of safe driving skills by imposing certain limitation during each step of licensing process. Here is Maryland licensing process step-by-step.
- MVA-certified Driver’s Education course
- Maryland Lerner’s Permit
- Fulfill All Practice Requirements
- Provisional Driver’s License
- Fulfill Provisional Drivers License Requirements
- Obtain Your Full Driver’s License
What is Maryland Graduated Licensing system?
In Maryland, law requires everyone to complete Driver’s Ed course in order to obtain new driver’s license. You can take this course as early as at age of 15, but this course required for every individual seeking license, in any case of age.
You do not need to take Driver’s Ed before getting your learner’s permit, but many applicants find that taking class first helps them to pass MVA learner’s permit exam on first try.
How to get Maryland learners Permit?
- Be at least 15 years and nine months old.
- Bring Form DL-300 to any Maryland Vehicle Administration official when applying for learner’s permit. This Verification of School Attendance and Identity form must be give to an MVA official in sealed envelope obtained from applicant’s county Home School principal (if homeschooled) or any other public Maryland school.
- Knowledge and vision test must be passed before receiving their learner’s permit.
- If you are less than 18 years old must have guardian or parent sign application. If you doesn’t have parent, guardian or spouse to sign application, any “responsible adult” can sigh with applicant.
- Applicants for Maryland learner’s permit must also satisfy Maryland Graduated Licensing System requirements.
What is fees structure for Maryland Driver license?
There are various fees for Maryland Driver License.
Drivers License Renewal is $6.00 per year
- $30.00 – 5 years
- $36.00 – 6 years
- $42.00 – 7 years
- $48.00 – 8 years
Drivers License Duplicate – $20.00
- Driver’s License New Under 21 – $9.00 per year http-//www.mva.maryland.gov/about-mva/fees/index.htm
- Driver’s License New (21 & over)- $72.00 – $9.00 per year
- Motorcycle License – New (under 21) – $9.00 per year
- Motorcycle License – New (21 & over)- $72.00/$9.00 per year
- Photo ID card New/Renewal (under 18) – $15.00
- Photo ID card – New/Renewal (18 & over)- $24.00
- Photo ID card – Duplicate/Correction- $20.00
Note the points
- Photo ID card (All Types).
- There is no fee for an ID card if you are 65 years of age or older, or if you have disability which limits major life activity.
- Fees may be prorated per year (21 & over – 5-8 years).
What are Maryland Learners Permit Rules and Regulations?
State of Maryland residents who have learner permit must adhere to all learners permit rules and regulations. Otherwise, they will not allow taking driver test and driver’s license. Most of Maryland learners permit rules and regulations are determined by Maryland Graduated Driver’s license Program or Rookie driving law.
State of Maryland’s driver’s permits rules and regulations were created to help keep new drivers safe. If you fail to stick to rules and regulations set you may lose your driving privileges. Rookie driver applies to all applicants of age, who have never held license in Maryland or any other state or country or who have held their out-of-state license for less than eighteen (18) months.
Maryland has two kinds of learner’s permits.
- Type 1 – For drivers who have never had license.
- Type 2 – For drivers who have previous driver’s license or people who are applying for another type of license such as motorcycle license or one to drive a semi- truck etc.
Before you get learner’s permit you have to take written test that tests your knowledge on road signs, safe driving, traffic laws and other driving related questions.
Maryland Learners Permit Rules
- Minimum age to apply for permit is 15 years and 9 months
- Permit is valid for 12 months, but you can take road test in just 180 days and also provide all graduated license requirements
What are Maryland learners Permit Restrictions?
Once you have your learners permit, you can start learning to drive motor vehicle and get ready for your drivers road test. This learner’s permit is valid for one year. However, you can take road test in 180 days provided you stick to all permit restrictions. Following is listed of most important things you must do while driving with your Maryland learners permit.
- You cannot drive alone, you must have an adult 21 years or older for minimum of 3 years license. This person must be seated beside at all times.
- You cannot use cell phone while driving.
- You have to take Maryland approved driver’s education class that consists of minimum of 30 hours of classroom time and six hours of driving instructions. MVA doesn’t accept online or correspondent classes. You can take class through your school or driving school.
In addition, to completing driver’s education class, you must have minimum of 60 hours of supervised driving time and 10 of hours must be night time driving. Driving hours have to be logged in book provided by MVA. If you’re 18 or younger book must be signed by parent or your legal guardian. If you are older than 18 it has to be signed by a licensed mentor who rode with you, while you practiced driving.
If you commit any traffic violations, you have to start over your 60 hours of driving time again and you will not be able to take road test for another six months. For more information on Maryland learners permit details you can read http-//www.mva.maryland.gov/drivers/rookie-driver/general-learners.htm
What are Maryland Provisional license rules?
Provisional license is next stage of driver graduated licensing system process. You must pass Maryland driver skills test to get provisional license. In provisional license, you will gain experience by driving without supervision but with restrictions. This restriction includes not use of cell phone, transporting passengers, driving at night or under influence of alcohol or drugs.
What documents do you need for Maryland provisional license?
- Minimum age is 16 years and 6 months
- You must complete requirements for learner’s permit with no convictions before time period
- You must completed classroom and behind-the-wheel of Maryland driver’s education program with an approved supplier
- You must completed all required practice driving under supervision and have signed certificate, included in Rookie Driver Practice Guide
For more details, see learner’s permit http-//www.mva.maryland.gov/drivers/rookie-driver/general-learners.htm
Driving with your provisional license restrictions
There are several restrictions for drivers who are 18 years old or younger and are driving with Maryland Provisional License. All provisional drivers must maintain clean driving record for 18 months before they are eligible for full Maryland driver’s license. With provisional license, you may drive without supervising driver. However, you have restrictions depending on your age.
- If you are under age of 21, you may not drive with alcohol in your systems. Older drivers must fulfill with Maryland’s impaired driving laws.
Provisional license holders under age of 18
- You may not drive with passengers under age of 18, other than family members, for first 151 days, without qualified supervising driver.
- You may not drive between 12 midnight and 5 AM unless supervised, licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and has 3 years of driving is with them.
- You are driving to or from job, official school activity
- You may not use any wireless device, including hands-free device.
- Must use safety belt, every trip, every time. All passengers must use safety belts or child safety seats.
- Once you turns 18, these restrictions do not apply
Points to note
- If new driver under 18 is mention for moving violation, MVA will notify adult who co-signed application.
- Drivers under 18 may have their licenses canceled if parent, guardian or co-signer withdraws their consent.
Full Maryland Driver’s License
Your provisional driver license will automatically become full driver’s license when you are at least 18 years old and have held your provisional driver license for 18 months without conviction.
What are requirement for Full Maryland Driver’s license?
- Minimum age is 18 years
- Drivers must hold provisional license for minimum of 18 months and be conviction-free during that period.
- If under 21, your license and record must be alcohol-free.
When will convert to Maryland Full Driver’s License?
When you have completed all requirements of provisional license, and held license for minimum time period, MVA will automatically convert your license to full privileges of driver’s license. An attachment card will be mailed to you, showing conversion to full license. This card should be carried with provisional license to show change in licensing status. Once you renew your license, you will be issued new one and will no longer need attachment. http-//www.mva.maryland.gov/drivers/rookie-driver/general-drivers.htm
What are Maryland Teen Driving Laws?
State laws placed restrictions on teenage drivers in Maryland. These driving laws in Maryland apply to all drivers under age 18, when they received their learner’s permit or provisional driver’s license http-//www.mva.maryland.gov/drivers/rookie-driver/general-provisional.htm . These new teen driving restrictions were designed to an increase in teen car crashes and are intended to give teens more experience driving.
Maryland laws for Driver’s under 18
- You must hold learners permit for at least 6 months before applying for provisional license.
- You must complete at least 60 hours of driving practice with someone at least age 21 years who has held driver’s license for 3 years or more.
- At least 10 hours of practice driving hours must occur at night
- Drivers under age of 18 are prohibited from talking on cell phones while driving.
- For first 5 months with provisional license, if you are under age of 18 is prohibited from driving other minors unless they are direct family members or go by an adult.
Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration informs parents or guardians of minor who receives reference for any moving violation. Also minor will be required to get learner’s permit before they get behind the wheel, even under driving instructor. Permit validation date will be extended and can be valid for up to two years after date of issuance. See official site for Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration, for more detailed look at driving laws in Maryland. http-//www.mva.maryland.gov/
What is process for new resident driver license in Maryland?
You have 60 days after moving to Maryland to get new driver’s license. Commercial drivers must transfer their commercial driver’s license (CDL) within 30 days. To get license, bring proof of name, identity and residence plus your out-of-state license to full-service MVA location. Check for more information on Maryland commercial driver’s license. http-//www.mva.maryland.gov/drivers/apply/cdl/commercial.htm
- You will need your out-of-state license, if you do not have Maryland license you need to present certified driving record from licensing agency.
- You must pass vision screening or provided by doctor must have been administered within previous 12 months.
- Vision screening can be taken at MVA branch office or you can submit completed vision screening form (DL-043 or DL-043A)
- If you are exchanging an out-of-state license that has been expired for one year or more, you are required to take knowledge and skills tests in addition to vision test.
- New Maryland residents must get Maryland driver’s license within 60 days.
If licensed for less than 18 months, you will be issued Maryland provisional license.
- An out-of-state license must be valid license or license expired for less than one year and also cannot be suspended.
- If your license is expired for one year or more, you are required to pass knowledge and driver’s skills test.
- Proof of age, identity and residency, are required. Check online document guide http-//license.mva.maryland.gov/CheckList/default.aspx to determine what you will need to bring with you to MVA branch office. http-//www.mva.maryland.gov/locations/
- Pay required fees.
- An out-of-state learner’s permit cannot be exchanged for Maryland learner’s permit. You must fulfill all requirements of new learner’s permit.
- You must surrender your out-of-state driver’s license before you can get Maryland driver license.
How to renewing your Maryland Driver’s License?
Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration (MDOT MVA) will inform you by mail. This email will send you 60 days prior to your license expiration. This notice will show instructions on how to renew your driver’s license. However, some applicant will be able to renew online, by mail or at an MDOT MVA kiosk. Others will require visiting Maryland Department of Transportation (MVA) branch and providing either new photograph or documents required by law.
Fees for Renewing Your Maryland License
Under Maryland law, you may renew your license either by mail or in person at an MVA branch.
Renewal fees are
- $30 for driver’s license
- $50 for commercial driver’s license (CDL)
How to renew Your Maryland Driver’s License by Mail?
You can renew your driver’s license by mail if you have received “renew by mail’ notice. Submit your mail in renewal application at least 15 days before your current license expires. If you find any errors in your information, you must visit Maryland Department of Transportation (MVA) office to new in person.
- Complete your renewal application
- Mail your renewal with proper fee
- Your new license will be mailed to address printed on your Maryland Mail-In driver’s license renewal application. Maryland Department of Transportation (MVA) cannot mail or forward renewed license to an alternate address.
- If you need to change your address, please change your address and then you can renew by mail.
When you receive your new license, you must destroy your old license. As per Maryland law allows only one driver’s license per driver. This license must receive within two weeks or less. Otherwise, you can call MDOT MVA at 1-410-768-7000 if you do not receive your new license after 15 days.
Note- If you are over 40, you must have your doctor complete and sign “vision certification” portion of your renewal form. You must use form that comes with your renewal notice or your renewal will not be processed.
How to renew Your Maryland Driver’s License in Person?
Bring your expiring license and appropriate fee to an MVA branch. You have up to year after your license’s expiration date to renew without having to take additional tests. However, it is against law to drive with an expired license. If you are over 40, you will either have to take the vision test at MVA or bring in a vision form filled out by your doctor.
Maryland Renewing an Expired License
If Maryland driver’s license has been expired by over year, it cannot be renewed until your expired license has taken and passed an approved test. Test for drivers with expired licenses is exactly same as that required of new drivers. You need to both knowledge test and skills test, which must passed in order to do officially renew. These tests will decide whether driver is capable of safely operating motor vehicle.
When Maryland is issued New Drivers license?
If you have never had a license, you must first obtain a learners permit, which after six months of training can be converted to a provisional license. After holding the provisional license for 18 months, drivers may apply for a full license. Applicants for a learners permit must be at least 15 years and 9 months old. You can read more about teen driver Maryland laws http-//www.mva.maryland.gov/safety/mhso/program-young-drivers.htm
How this Maryland Driver’s Manual help for driving?
You must pass Motor Vehicle Administration knowledge test to get learners permit is based on information in Maryland Driver’s manual. This manual gives you basic knowledge on driver safety for new drivers, including Maryland traffic laws, highway signs that warn and direct traffic safe driving practices.
You can study Maryland driver’s manual and practice with Maryland online driver test to prepare for knowledge test before coming to Motor Vehicle Administration office to apply for your learners permit. This manual available in Maryland official site http-//www.mva.maryland.gov/drivers/maryland-drivers-manual.htm or you can pick up at any Motor Vehicle Administration branch office.
How to do Change of Address on Maryland driver license?
You may use this process to change your residential address. You will also be given option to add or change your mailing address only if it is different than your residence. For more information about process of address change see http-//www.mva.maryland.gov/about-mva/info/27300/27300-16T.htm
To proceed you will be required to enter your Driver’s License or Identification (ID) Card number, Date of Birth and your 4 digit MVA PIN or last 4 digits of your Social Security number
- If only Change-of-Address card is needed, there is no fee.
- If you would like to receive a new DL, ID card or Duplicate Title with your updated residential address, there will be $20.00 fee.
- You must visit MVA Branch Office to make Commercial Driver’s License changes.
Note- Change of Address reflecting your updated residential address will be sent to you within 4-6 business days. For security purposes, confirmation notice will be sent to your previous address on file.
How to get duplicate Maryland driver’s license?
If you lost your license, permit or ID card, you do not need to report to MVA office. You can apply for your duplicate driver license online at MVA website www.mva.maryland.gov or via MVA kiosk. Duplicate driving licenses or ID cards will be mailed to you. You should receive your duplicate within 10 business days. For more information please see obtaining license, permit or ID card when absent from Maryland. http-//www.mva.maryland.gov/about-mva/info/26300/26300-31T.htm
- You must gather documents that you need to present to MVA
- Proof of identity
- If you have new address, two proof of your current resident http-//www.mva.maryland.gov/drivers/apply/sources-of-proof.htm
- Pay for duplicate driver license
If you are under 18, your parent or legal guardian must come with you. Second, visit any MVA office. When you arrive, MVA employee will ask below details
- Take your photograph
- Review documents you brought with you and ask you various questions to verify that you are eligible to receive duplicate card. Please refer MVA procedure for duplicate license http-//www.mva.maryland.gov/about-mva/info/26300/26300-37T.htm
Need to schedule Maryland Motor Vehicle Administrations appointment?
Central Scheduling System gives you one-stop shop to schedule Non-Commercial Driver Skills Test appointments as well as TSA Hazardous Materials Background Record. There is no more waiting on hold or waiting in line. You may also schedule an appointment with MVA if you are applying for your first driver’s license, learners permit or ID card.
This new system allows you to schedule an appointment at your convenience. Log on to https-//mvascheduling.mdot.state.md.us/ to schedule your next appointment. If you need additional assistance, you can contact MVA Customer Service Center at 410-768-7000
Find Maryland Office Locations & Contacts
There are different ways to get in touch with Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration main offices. You can contact Maryland MVA by phone, E-mail and by mailing address
- Phone—Call 410- 768-7000 Monday-Friday 8-30am to 4-30pm for all services and every Saturday 8-30am to noon for Driver’s License Services only
- E-mail—Use MVA’s e-mail us at firstname.lastname@example.org
- Mail—Address your letters to
Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration
6601 Ritchie Highway NE,
Glen Burnie, MD 21062
1-800-492-4575 (TTY) http-//www.mva.maryland.gov/locations/