Here to get everything you need to get your Mississippi Driver’s license, renewals, manuals, change of address, commercial licenses and office locations and much more. This is your one-stop information for everything you need to know about driving in Mississippi. For more information about obtaining, renewing, replacing or change of address, duplicate license see below.
How to get driving license in states of Mississippi?
Under laws of Mississippi, if you operate any motor vehicle on streets or highways, you must have license or instruction permit. To obtain Mississippi driver’s license, you need to apply in person at your local Mississippi DPS office. You need completed Driver’s License Application Form. Before your MS driver’s license will be issued, you must pass both written knowledge exam and a driving test.
What is Mississippi Graduated Driver licensing?
Mississippi Graduated Driver licensing is system for phasing in on-road driving, allowing beginners to get their initial experience under condition that involve lower risk and introducing them in stages. Learning about safe driving habits and taking time to get driving experience can help lower your teen’s risk behind-the-wheel.
It is important that you and your teen learn about Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) laws in your state. Graduated Driver licensing laws are designed to help your young driver to gain experience and skills in lower risk conditions before earning full driving privileges. GDL is intended to aspiring driver’s 15 to 16 years old.
Types of Licenses for Mississippi Drivers
Department of Public Safety offers different types of licenses for Mississippi drivers. Following licenses for Mississippi drivers are. Also see more types of Licenses in Mississippi https://www.dps.state.ms.us/driver-services/new-drivers-license/types-of-licenses/
- Learner’s Permit
- Intermediate License – Class Y
- Full unrestricted License
- Commercial driver’s license (CDL)
- Motorcycle endorsement: Designated on your regular driver’s license or your CDL.
How to Learn about Mississippi Drivers License Requirements?
To get your Mississippi drivers license you will need to be at least 15 years old to apply for learners permit at 15 and 16 you must hold learners permit for six months. You will need your social security card, certified copy of your birth certificate, and proof of residency and if you’re under 18 you will need to show proof you are in school by presenting an education form.
How to get learners license in Mississippi State?
- Must be at least 15 years old
- Pass written and vision exam
- Social Security card
- Proof of identity, age, and residence
- Proof of enrollment in or graduation from school
- Application signed by parent or legal guardian
- Pay $4 fee
How to obtain an Intermediate license in Mississippi?
- Must be 15 years old
- Pass written and vision exam
- Must hold Learner’s license for at least 6 months
- Same documentation as for Learner’s license
- Pay $6 fee
How to obtain an unrestricted license or Full License in Mississippi?
- Must be 16 years old
- Must hold an Intermediate license for at least 6 months
- Must have clean record
- Must provide same documentation as required above
- Must provide proof of enrollment in or graduation from school
- Teens 17 years old must have held permit but Intermediate license is not required
How to get Mississippi learner’s Permit?
Mississippi is one of many states that use graduated driver’s license program. This program requires all new drivers under 18 years old to begin driving under supervision, in order to practice safe driving before getting their full driver’s license. In order to receive initial learner’s permit, you must follow certain steps. Here is simple guide to getting Mississippi learner’s permit
Mississippi Learner’s Permit
There are three levels in learner permit program in Mississippi. You must be at least 14 years of age and need to enroll in Mississippi driver’s education class in their school may apply for learner’s permit that is valid only during driver’s education course under supervision of course instructor.
If you are at least 15 years old, and are enrolled in driver’s education program at their school, may obtain traditional learner’s permit. With this permit, drivers may drive with supervision. This permit must be held for at least one year before driver can apply for an intermediate driver’s license.
You are 17 years old, and are enrolled in driver’s education program at their school, may apply for learner’s permit that has shorter required holding period. This allows teen to receive their intermediate license when they turn 18, rather than waiting full year.
Anyone using any of these learner’s permits must complete at least six hours of behind-the-wheel practice in their driver’s education program.
What are Mississippi driver’s license fees?
Mississippi driver’s license will cost you for 4 years is $24 and 8 years is $47. Fees for all original licenses must be cash. Driving license Fees for ID cards must also be cash for Renewal, replacement, or originals. Below you can find Mississippi driver’s license fees. For more details of Mississippi driver’s license fees see https://www.dps.state.ms.us/driver-services/new-drivers-license/driver-services-fees/
- Regular License Class R – $21.00
- Intermediate License Class Y – $ 6.00
- Regular License Class R (Under 18) – $ 6.00
- Commercial License Class D -$26.00
- Identification Card-$14.00
- Learner’s Permit – $ 4.00
- Motorcycle Endorsement – $ 6.00
Cash payment is required by law for any original issuance of driver license or learner’s permit. Original duplicate or renewal of identification cards will always be paid for in cash.
What are requirements to apply for Mississippi driving permit?
State of Mississippi has following requirements for obtaining Learner’s Permit
- You must be at least 15 years old.
- You must hold permit for at least one year before taking driving test.
- You must show proof that you are enrolled in school by submitting signed Certification of School Attendance form.
- You must pass both written and eye exams.
- You must pay fee of $4 in cash.
Note- you can apply for temporary learner’s permit at age 14 if you are enrolled in high school driver’s education course. This type of permit is only valid while operating driver’s education vehicle when go by an instructor.
What documents must fill out at DMV to get my permit or driver’s license?
When applying for Mississippi learner’s permit or driver’s license, you will need to do following. First step to applying for Mississippi learner’s permit is to pass written driving skills test. In order to take this test, you must submit following documents to local DPS office. Following is required when applying for permit.
- Completed application with notarized signatures of parents and legal guardians.
- Social Security number or printout from Social security Administration
- Certified birth certificate issued by State Board of Health
- Proof of current school attendance and proof of enrollment in driver’s education course
- Two proofs of residence
What restrictions come with Mississippi driver’s permit?
State of Mississippi has following restrictions for driver’s license.
Learner’s Permit Restrictions
- You must be accompanied by parent, legal guardian or another licensed driver who is 21 years or older when driving.
Intermediate License Restrictions
- You may only drive unsupervised between the hours of 6 am and 10 pm. During all other times, your parent, legal guardians or another licensed driver who is 21 years or older must accompany you at all times.
What restrictions if any are there for new drivers?
It is strongly recommended that teens take Mississippi First Time Driver course, which has following benefits
- Reduces number of alcohol related crashes among teenage drivers
- Helps new drivers understand the basic traffic laws
- Teen drivers will learn how to safely operate a motor vehicle
In addition, set of courses will cover risks of unfocused driving and cost of driving under influence of drugs or alcohol
What Mississippi driver’s education is required?
Certainly, driving courses will help you to increase knowledge and practice safe driving habits. Also gives you basic vehicle handling skills. Most new drivers in Mississippi are required to successfully complete a State-approved driver’s education program in order to obtain a Mississippi driver’s license.
Mississippi residents under age of 15 must enroll in State-approved driver’s education program before applying for learner’s permit. Mississippi driver’s education course must consist of following
- 30 hours of classroom instruction
- 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training
When can you get your Mississippi driver’s license?
State of Mississippi has following requirements for obtaining Mississippi driver’s license
Intermediate License Requirements
- You must be at least 15 years and six months old.
- You must have held learner’s permit for at least one year.
- You must be able to pass road skills test.
- You must have your parents or legal guardians sign application https://www.dps.state.ms.us/driver-services/new-drivers-license/applications-forms/
- You must provide proof of graduation
- You must pay appropriate license fee.
Driver’s License Requirements
- You must be at least 16 years old.
- You must have held an Intermediate for at least six months with a clean driving record.
- You must provide proof of enrollment in graduation
- You are not required to have an Intermediate License if you are 17 years of age and have valid Learner’s Permit
What is process for Military Personnel in Mississippi?
DPS policy permits non-resident military personnel and their family and any out of state to drive in Mississippi. But you need to hold valid driver’s license from another state. Any person in armed services of United States, holding Mississippi driver’s license and being out of state due to military services at that time your license expires. You may renew license by mail with following documents.
- Photocopy of Mississippi driver’s license or social security card
- First page of military orders placing you at your current duty station
- Provide letter from your officer stating name, driver’s license number and deployment status.
- Certified check made out to Mississippi Department of Public Safety for $24.00 for regular renewal, $25.00 if expired or $11.00 for replacement of lost license.
- Self addressed stamped envelope.
Send to below address
P.O. Box 958
Jackson, MS 39205
How to transfer Out-Of-State Drivers to Mississippi driver’s license?
If you move to Mississippi, you must obtain Mississippi driver’s license within 60 days. Mississippi recognizes valid out-of-state learner’s permit. However, you need to follow rules of your home state. You are allowed to drive in Mississippi with your out-of-state license for as long as license is valid. If you become Mississippi resident, you need to obtain an MS driver’s license.
When you apply for Mississippi driver’s licenses you must surrender any and all driver’s licenses from other states and show your social security card. Your driving record in other states will be checked before Mississippi license is issued to you.
If you have valid driver’s license from another state, Written and Skills Test may be waived. You will be required to pass vision screening. If you are transferring from another state and your license has been expired over 30 days, you will be required to take written test.
If you are applying from out-of state to obtain Mississippi license and your license has been lost, you must obtain an Affidavit of Inability to surrender form Driver License office. You must have your signature notarized on it.
What is Out-OF-State learner Permit?
Any person who has temporary or learners’ permit issued to him by another state shall be required to make application and pass written and road test and meet all other requirements before Mississippi license can be issued
Out-Of-State learner permits are not valid in Mississippi for purpose of waiving any written or road test. Out-of-state learner permits are valid for operating motor vehicle in this state if holder is complying with all requirements of state which issued permit.
How to renew Your Mississippi Driver’s License?
Before your Mississippi driver’s license expires, you need to renew it with Mississippi Department of Public Safety (DPS) Driver Services in order to continue driving legally in state. You have three options to renew your Mississippi Driver’s license.
- In person
- By mail for out-of-state military members
Renewing Your Mississippi Drivers License Online
You must be 16 years – 10 months to renew online. Individuals over 18 can renew their license six months prior to expiration date. State of Mississippi has an online renewal process. If you do not have valid photo, you will be issued letter stating that you must come to driver license station to have your picture taken.
You can renew your license online every other time you renew your license. Once you renew your license online, you will not be able to renew online again until you have made renewal in person. You are able to renew license online up to one year after expiration date. This means that if yours license expires on Sunday, they have until midnight Monday, to renew their license online.
And surcharge will be added to those online renewals made after expiration date. Mississippi Department of Public Safety is not responsible for Driver’s Licenses that are lost in mail. You can take care of some of your driver’s license issues by visiting Mississippi Department of Public Safety homepage https://www.dps.state.ms.us/ to begin renewing your driver’s license.
Note – you cannot renew online from 2 a.m. to 3 a.m., Monday through Saturday. Making payments on-line is actually safer and more dependable than paying by mail
Renewing Your Mississippi Drivers License in Person
It is also possible to renew in person at your local DPS office. Be sure to take your license with you. You’ll also need to pay $8 renewal fee. You may need to bring documents such as
- Social Security card
- Proof of identity
- Proof of residence
- Birth certificate
You may also need other documents that DPS will tell you about when you want to renew. Check Mississippi Driver’s license online services https://www.msegov.com/dps/license_renewal/
How much does it cost to renew Mississippi Drivers License online?
For Mississippi Drivers License, standard $24.00 renewal fee applies whether in person or online. If license is expired, there is late fee surcharge of $1.00. For online renewals, there is an additional convenience fee that varies based on total purchase amount and postage and handling fee of $1.50.
How to replace or Duplicate Mississippi Drivers License?
If you need to replace your Mississippi driver’s license, you must do so in person at your local DPS office. Be sure to take your license with you, along with payment for $11 renewal fee. In event of lost or stolen driver’s licenses in Mississippi, drivers should report incident to police. You may need to bring documents such as
- Your Social Security card
- Proof of identity
- Provide Proof of residence
- Original Birth certificate
Mississippi Online license replacement
If you apply for duplicate license online, all details on your driver’s license must be same. No changes will be made to your driver’s license and it will mail to current address shown on your license card. To submit your request for duplicate driver’s license online, you need to visit website of Mississippi department of public safety. https://www.dps.state.ms.us/driver-services/new-drivers-license/duplicate-license/
Fees to Replace Mississippi Driver’s License
Cost for duplicate driver’s license in Mississippi is $11. If you are requesting duplicate ID card, it will cost you
- $9, if you still have your original ID card.
- $14, if you are replacing lost/stolen card. Fees must be paid by cash, debit, or credit card.
Note – Replacements ordered by online must be paid by debit/credit card only.
How to Change Your Address on Your Mississippi Drivers License in Person?
If you have recently moved to new address in Mississippi, you need to update your MS DPS records. You need to visit your local DPS office in person to make this change. You must inform Mississippi Department of Public Safety of change in address and to obtain replacement driver license. Reporting change of address to your local driver license office is simple and can only be done in person.
Reporting an address change in person
- Locate driver license office nearest you
- Bring your current license, along with proof of residency to prove your new address
- Fee of $5 for change your address
Mississippi Driver’s License Manuals
Mississippi Driver’s Manual has two main purposes to help you obtain Mississippi driver’s license, and to help you become safe driver. This manual has been written in simple language. It explains basic intent of Mississippi traffic laws.
These documents can be viewed online or downloaded for viewing or printing. If you are unable to access document, printed copy can be purchased at your local drivers’ services location. Go here to find locations contact information. https://www.dps.state.ms.us/driver-services/new-drivers-license/contact-information/
Where is Mississippi Department of Public Safety located?
Department of Public Safety is located in many places. DPS office hours are 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. Monday through Friday, except state holidays
Department of Public Service Headquarters
1900 East Woodrow Wilson,
Mississippi, 39216. Office number is 601-987-1212.
For driver’s license office near you, check official Mississippi website http://www.dps.state.ms.us/driver-services/new-drivers-license/district-one-locations/
How do you get license if you are new resident of State of Mississippi?
You must visit nearest driver’s license office to apply for Mississippi License. You must provide following documents
- Valid out-of state license
- Certified state issued birth certificate
- Original social security card
- Two proof of residency
- Written and skills test may be waived
How to schedule your Mississippi driving license?
First time drivers of any age must pass road test to land Mississippi driver’s license. You can schedule your driving license road test on line or by phone. But your road test must be scheduled 2 days in advance. You make sure that you are ready for your Mississippi driving test before you schedule appointment.
Also you can call Mississippi Department of Public Safety for more on road test appointments and test schedules. https://www.dps.state.ms.us/driver-services/new-drivers-license/ready-to-schedule-your-cdl-road-test/
Mississippi DPS forms and applications
Mississippi Department of Revenue (DOR) and Department of Public Safety (DPS) both offer variety of vehicle and driver forms online. You can download PDF versions of these forms below link. You cannot make an appointment for Mississippi driver services, and then you can save yourself by download forms and complete paperwork.
If you need further assistance finding or filling out form, you can contact above Mississippi DPS office numbers. These most often used forms can be found at Mississippi DPS forms and application page. http://www.dps.state.ms.us/driver-services/new-drivers-license/applications-forms/