Ohio Driver’s license | Procedure for Renew & Change of Address | Ohio Teen Driving Laws & License

In State of Ohio, to drive you need to own valid driver’s license. Driving is privilege, not right and it is necessary to follow Ohio regulation regarding your Ohio driver’s license. In Ohio, Ohio Driver Licenses are managed by Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles. There are some rules to keep in mind when attempting all of requirements to receive driver license in Ohio State. Continue reading below and we’ll give you complete details on what needs to be done.

How to get your Ohio Driver’s license?

In order to get new Ohio driver license, you need to complete number of important steps when applying. Driver’s license issued by Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles to you drive on public roads. Once you know license you are applying for, it is time to study for test. Your Local Department of Motor Vehicles can provide you with up-to-date rules and regulations.

Decide License Type

Depending on type of vehicle you plan to drive in state, there are various levels of driver’s licenses you must apply for to stay compliant. Regular license to operate vehicles such as cars and trucks is Class D. There are separate licenses necessary to operate motorcycles, motorized bicycles, and commercial vehicles.

Driver’s Under Age 18

In order to maintain safety on road, state does implement additional steps to process of obtaining driver’s license for those under age 18. After all, learning period is necessary to take license. If under 18 years are required to complete driver’s education course. These courses are not required for those over 18 years.

Types of Ohio Driver Licenses

Ohio BMV offers different types of driver’s licenses but depends on type of vehicle you will be driving.

  • Regular driver license
  • Temporary instruction permit identification card (TIPIC)
  • Commercial driver’s license (CDL).
  • Motorcycle license.

What are age requirements for Ohio Driver’s license?

Minimum age requirements to start Ohio BMV GDL program are as follows

  • Temporary Instruction Permit (learner’s permit) – 15 ½ year old
  • Probationary License – 16 years old
  • Full driver’s license – 18 years old

Ohio Drivers License Cost

There is price to pay to issue an Ohio driver’s license. This fee varies depending on situation. Fee for your Ohio driver’s license will depend on your age and length of validity. There is no cost for written test, however you will be required to pay $2.75 fee for vision screening, as well as cost of driver’s license and lamination charge. This cost of your license will depend on your age.

  • If you are 16 years old – $24.25
  • If you are 17 years old – $23
  • 19 years old – $20.50.
  • You are 18 years old – $21.75.
  • 20 years old – $19.25.
  • For driver license Renewals $25.75.
  • Fee for replacement is nearly as much as renewal at $24.50.
  • Furthermore, there are small fees for services such as vision test at $2.75, lamination fee of $1.50, and Deputy Registrar Transaction fee of $3.50.
  • For first time driver license over age of 21 years old or older license valid for 4 years – $23.

What is Ohio Graduated Driver licensing under age 18?

At age 15 years and half months, you may go to any driver exam station to take knowledge and vision screening to begin temporary permit process. Prior to testing you must provide proof of documents below.

  • Ohio Residency
  • Citizenship or legal presence
  • Full legal Name
  • Date of birth
  • Social Security number

If you have an Ohio identification card, it must be surrendered when temporary instruction permit identification card is issued. To obtaining driver license following requirements must be needed. For more information you can read http://www.bmv.ohio.gov/dl-gdl.aspx

  • You must complete driver education class at licensed driver training school, which include 24 hours of classroom and 8 hours of driving time.
  • You must complete 50 hours of driving with at least 10 hours of night driving, in addition on driver education requirements.
  • Driver must hold TIPIC for at least six months

How to Get Your Ohio Driver’s Permit?

In Ohio, all new drivers are required to obtain Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC) learner’s permits in order to begin behind-the-wheel driving training. You can apply for your temporary learner’s permit at your local Deputy Registrar License Agency. You must be at least 15 and half years old to apply. Bring documents http://www.bmv.ohio.gov/dl-identity-documents.aspx  to prove

  • Proof of Ohio residency
  • Your proof of identity
  • Your date of birth
  • You must bring Social Security Number
  • Legal U.S. Presence

If you are under 18, you must be accompanied by parent or legal guardian who can provide proof of identification. You will also need to pay any associated fees for your Temporary Permit http://www.bmv.ohio.gov/links/bmv-all-fees.pdf

You need to take vision examination and written examination before receiving your temporary permit. Written examination covers Ohio motor vehicle regulations and traffic signs. Once you have received your temporary learner’s permit, you are ready to move forward with your behind-the-wheel training and practice on roads.

What are Ohio learners permit Rules?

  • Your temps driver permit (TIPIC) must be carried at all times while driving.
  • You must be go by licensed parent, guardian or certified driving instructor who occupies seat beside driver.
  • Once you turn 16, then you may drive with valid licensed driver 21 years of age or older.
  • Under age of 17 will not be permitted to operate vehicle with more than one person who is not family member unless go by parent, guardian or legal custodian.
  • Under age of 18 are prohibited from driving between hours of midnight and 6 a.m. unless go with parent, guardian or legal custodian with valid license.
  • You add traffic-related violations may be subject to other penalties and probations. See Ohio BMV site for all TIPIC restrictions http://bmv.ohio.gov/dl-gdl.aspx .

How to Get Your Ohio Probationary Driver’s license?

To apply for your Ohio Driver’s license, you must

  • Be at least 16 years old and have held learner’s permit (Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card) for at least 6 months.
  • Complete 24 hours of classroom driver’s education by taking our online course.
  • Complete 8 hours of driving training with certified driving instructor after taking first two hours of our online Ohio Driver Education course.
  • Complete 50 hours of driving practice with licensed adult over 21 years of age, 10 hours of which must be at night.
  • Once you meet these requirements, schedule your driving test at your nearest Ohio BMV location.

State of Ohio Driver’s license

You will need to bring

  • You’re Driver Education Certificate of Completion
  • An affidavit filled out by guardian that confirms 50 hours of driving practice
  • You’re valid Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC)
  • Vehicle for your state driving test
  • Required fees http://www.bmv.ohio.gov/links/bmv-all-fees.pdf

What are Ohio Probationary driver license Rules?

  • If you are under age of 18, your license is considered probationary driver license until turning 18.
  • 16 year old drivers cannot drive between 12 am midnight and 6am unless accompanied by parent or guardian.
  • 16 year old drivers cannot have more than one non-family passenger in car unless there is also parent/guardian in car.
  • 17 year old drivers cannot drive between 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. unless accompanied by parent or guardian.

How to get Ohio Full unrestricted Driver License?

At age 18, teens are eligible for full unrestricted license. This state does not place night or passenger limits on those with unrestricted licenses. However, it encourages parents to maintain their own rules. All first time drivers in Ohio must take Traffic Law and course and written exam to receive learner’s license.

Parent-teen driving agreement can help you enforce licensing rules that state and your family set. An agreement helps you and your teen understand rules of road and sends clear message that driving is an earned privilege that your family takes seriously. After completion of probationary licensing stage you will get Ohio Full unrestricted license.

How to transfer out-of state driver license to new Ohio Resident?

New Ohio residents who hold valid driver license from another state should follow these steps to obtain an Ohio license. New Ohio residents can transfer their out-of-state driver’s license by visiting local BMV within 30 days of establishing residency. You need to show

  • Visit any Ohio BMV driver license exam station to present your valid out-of state driver license and submit vision screening.
  • Proof of your full legal name
  • Proof of Ohio residency
  • Proof of Social Security Number
  • Proof of legal presence,
  • Your valid out-of-state driver’s license.

If you are younger than 18 years old then you need to show proof of driver education and bring parent signed letter. To convert your out-of-state document to an Ohio, you need to bring following documents to office

How to do Non-Renewable or Non-Transferable Driver License in Ohio

Temporary residents who are foreign nationals residing in Ohio temporarily may obtain non-renewable or non-transferable Ohio driver license, not to exceed four years, which expires on date indicated on appropriate document issued by United States Citizenship and Immigration Services.

Non-renewable non-transferable driver license allows individuals to drive in Ohio and other states, but it cannot be transferred to another state. And words “non-renewable/non-transferable” will appear on driver license card below signature

How to renew Ohio driver’s license?

You must renew your Ohio driver’s license every four years. State of Ohio allows you to renew your driver license any time before it expires. If you decide to renew your Ohio driver’s license more than 90 days prior to it being expired. You have to renew you Ohio driver’s license again in three years instead of four.

If you are under age of 21 your license is valid until you turn 21 years old. You can renew your Ohio driver’s license within 30 days of turning 21. You can renew your Ohio driver’s license is to go in person to your local deputy registrar license agency, unless you are member of military living outside state. If you already have an expired license make sure you renew your Ohio driver’s license before 6 months because if you wait that long you will have to start entire licensing process over again.

To renew your Ohio driver’s license in person

Bring following with you, to renew your Ohio driver’s license in person.

  • Your current driver’s license
  • Proof of Identification
  • Ohio charges $25.75 which is about average for four year renewals.
  • You will have to pass vision test again

Ohio Drivers License Renewal for Military Drivers

If you are currently serving in Military, your license and dependents will be valid for an additional six months of your return from duty. After return to Ohio please visit license agency and apply for your renewal. Further no tests will be required from you as long as you meet following conditions

Renewal Steps and Conditions for U.S. Military Drivers

  • You need show proof of Leave and Earnings Statement (LES) from military or naval forces.
  • Must show proof that you are mentally and physically capable of operating motor vehicle. This is done via an honorable discharge certificate.
  • Your license must have been active not expired or suspended when you entered active duty.
  • You must file for renewal in person at license agency no more than six months after returning to Ohio

How to get duplicate or replacing your driver’s license in Ohio?

In State of Ohio, to drive you need to own valid driver’s license. If your driver license was damaged, lost or stolen due to an unfortunate event, you need to replace Ohio driver license immediately. You can replace driver license at Ohio local office in person. However, if you are currently traveling out-of-state, getting replacement Ohio driver license not convenient option.

Depending on how you choose to get driver’s license replacement in Ohio, you may have to wait for new card. Whether you are traveling, or waiting for replacement license to arrive at home, wise to have photocopy of your valid license handy, in case of emergency. If you do not have copy of your driver’s license, you can use US passport as proof of identity in meantime.

How to Replace Your Lost Ohio Drivers License, if you are out of state?

Only way to replace your Ohio drivers license is to go in person. However, this rule is when you are serving U.S. military away from Ohio. If so, you may request duplicate to be sent by mail. Below will give you exact details.

Steps to replace your Ohio driver license In Person

Bring your identification documents

  • Visit your nearest local license agency.
  • BMV employee will ask you to sign document to acknowledge that you are no longer in possession of your license due to theft or lost it.
  • Your picture will be compared to one in BMV’s database. There must be match.
  • Additionally, your complete name, social security number, birth date, address and legal status will be matched.
  • Pay fee for replacement or duplicate driver’s license. It is currently $24.50.
  • New duplicate license will be issued to you immediately at office.

Note: Your new duplicate license will still have same expiration date as one that you are replacing.

Steps to replace your Ohio driver license by Mail

If you are on military duty and are currently away from state of Ohio, you and your dependents may file for replacement and BMV will send your new license by mail. To get started with your application, follow these steps

  • Request you’re out of state Ohio driver license replacement by mail
  • This can be done by visiting BMV website. You need to enter your full name, Email address and reason.
  • Or by calling following number – 614-752-7600

How to change address on my Ohio driver’s license?

In order to change your address on your Ohio driver license, Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles offers three different methods such as in person, online or by mail.

Ohio driver license address change in person

  • Visit your local Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles office
  • Complete address change form http://www.publicsafety.ohio.gov/links/bmv5756.pdf
  • Submit proof of new Ohio residence

Ohio driver license address change through Online

  • Visit online link provided by Ohio BMV
  • Log in to access Ohio BMV records
  • Enter OH driver license number
  • Enter date of birth
  • Enter last four digits of Social security number
  • Proceed with steps as instructed in order to complete address change

Changing Address on your Ohio Driver license by Mail

Complete address change form or written statement include full name, date of birth, OH driver license number, previous address and new address

Mail out address change form http://www.bmv.ohio.gov/forms-general.aspx or written statement to

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles

License Verification Unit

P.O. Box 16784

Columbus, Ohio 43216-6784

How to Use Online Services offered by Ohio DMV?

Ohio BMV also has some online services available. Utilize these online services if you want to avoid taking trip to BMV. You can update your address or change your mailing address online. You can also renew, replace, or exchange your license plates or pay your reinstatement fees.

If your license has been suspended you can also contact if there is an emergency. On top of that, you can register to be an organ donor. You also have option of checking or modifying your CDL self-certification online. All other tasks must be completed in person. For more online service see http://www.publicsafety.ohio.gov/services.stm

Ohio BMV Office Locations

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles is in charge of driver’s license, renewing and registrations. It has different types of offices located throughout state. You can visit Deputy Registrar License Agency depending on your needs.

These offices keep different hours. It is important to check BMV locations and hours of operation prior to going in person. Otherwise, you might end up at an office and you have to come back another day. To find more nearby location check http://bmv.ohio.gov/locations.aspx

How to Schedule your appointment with Ohio BMV?

It can be busy at BMV, so take advantage of online scheduling option for driver’s exams. You can use online form to schedule an exam at an exam station. It is best to make an appointment in advance so that you don’t end up waiting long time.

Appointments can be made on the Ohio BMV website. This makes it much easier to take your test. Learn more about Ohio licensing requirements http://www.bmv.ohio.gov/driver-license.aspx  and teen driving in Ohio. You can schedule your driving test through online appointment services at www.ohio.gov . All other section of driver’s license process is on walk in basis only.

What Information Covered in Ohio Driver Manual?

Ohio Driver Manual provides information regarding different types of licenses, state traffic laws, road signs, safe driving information and regulations – all of which will help you drive safely and successfully.

  • You must pull over and stop at side of road for any emergency vehicle with its lights or sirens on
  • Signs in yellow with black lettering and symbols are usually warning signs

Ohio Responsible Driver Information provides general information about the rules of the road including traffic laws, parking, safety devices and more. You can access entire Ohio Responsible Driver Information online at http://publicsafety.ohio.gov/links/hsy7607.pdf

How to Get Your Ohio Driving Record?

Your Ohio driving record can be ordered by mail, online or in person. For instructions on how to order, click here: http://www.bmv.ohio.gov/abstract.stm   Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles website offers complete list of all Ohio BMV locations. These listings are searchable by county and services offered, with all listings including address, map and directions, hours of operation and phone number. To view these listings, visit http://bmv.ohio.gov/county_lst.stm

Ohio BMV contact Information

In Ohio, there are number of different places to take care of each step of driving process. For more information regarding obtaining an Ohio Driver License, please contact Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles or visit Ohio BMV website.

You can contact BMV through mail or over phone. If you call, make sure you dial correct department. Ohio BMV will open from 8.00 am to 5.30 pm, Monday through Friday. For more information on Ohio defensive driving program, visit the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles http://www.bmv.ohio.gov/  website.

  • General Information – 844-644-6268
  • Driver license and ID cards- 614-752-7600
  • Reinstatement Information- 614-752-7700
  • Driver Exam Scheduling- 877-439-8378
  • Vehicle Registration – 614-752-7800

Mailing address of Ohio BMV

Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 16520

Columbus, OH 43216-6520

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *