State Oklahoma driver’s license issued by DPS is mandatory for residents who want to drive. If you are an Oklahoma resident, you must have an Oklahoma Driver License to operate motor vehicle. Your license to operate motor vehicle on Oklahoma streets and highways is privilege granted by state under certain conditions. Learn about Oklahoma driver’s license services, renewal, change of address, getting duplicate license, out-of state license etc.
How to get driver’s license in Oklahoma?
Getting drivers license in Oklahoma varies for different age groups. If you are younger than 18, you need to apply for learners permit before you can be issued with valid state drivers license. You should collect following documents before you visit Oklahoma DPS and apply for your license
- Driver’s license application must be signed by your parent in front of DPS official
- Proper identification
- Proof of enrollment in school or full-time employment
- Driver’s education completion certificate
- You’re Social Security Number
Types of Drivers Licenses in Oklahoma
You can visit nearest Oklahoma Department of Public Safety (DPS) office in order to apply for driver’s licenses. There are following types of drivers licenses are issued in state of Oklahoma.
- Class A, B or C – Commercial Drivers License (CDL)
- Class D driver’s license
- Motorcycle license
What is age requirement for an Oklahoma Driver’s license?
- Age of 15 1/2 years old ―Eligible for learner’s permit
- Age of 16 years old ―Eligible for an intermediate driver’s license
- Age of 18 years old ―Eligible for an unrestricted Class D driver’s license
How much does an Oklahoma Driver’s License Cost?
Oklahoma has schedule of fees for new driver’s licenses. New learner’s permits and Class D driver’s licenses cost $21.50 and $4 application fee. If you have to take either portion of safe driving exam more than once, there is an additional $4 fee for each attempt. Seniors who are ages 62 and older pay less for new licenses. For more details on Oklahoma license cost see https://www.ok.gov/dps/Renew_an_Oklahoma_Driver_License_ID_Card/Fees.html
- Younger than 62 years old- $38.50.
- Age of 62 years old – $21.25.
- Age of 63 years old – $17.50.
- Age of 64 years old – $13.75.
- Age of 65 years old and older – Free.
Oklahoma Graduated License Program
Oklahoma graduated driver’s license law divides process of obtaining driver license into number of stages, ensuring that teenager proceed to next stage when you have adequate driving skills and experience. First step is obtaining learners permit. You can get learner permit when you are 15 ½ years.
Learners permit will allow them to drive vehicle, but it forces following requirements and restriction upon driver. Visit Oklahoma DPS site https://www.ok.gov/dps/ for more information on Oklahoma Graduated Drivers License (GDL).
- You must pass written exam administered by Oklahoma DPS.
- You must complete Department of Public Safety approved driver’s education course and obtain an official certificate of completion.
- You must be accompanied by licensed driver over 21 in front seat at all times.
- You must observe all traffic regulations and keep a clean driving record.
- You may not drink and drive and is prohibited to drive under influence.
Steps to Getting an Oklahoma Learner’s Permit
To receive your learners permit, you must follow state steps of application as part of graduated license program
- Appear in person at your local DMV branch, accompanied by parent or legal guardian
- Fill out learners permit application also provide application signed by your parent along with your birth certificate and two accepted forms of identification to DMV branch. In addition, you must provide proof you have completed basic driver’s education to apply.
- You must then pass vision screen and take your written learners permit test.
- Once you have passed all of tests and your identity is verified
- You may pay $25.00 fee and receive your learners permit.
How to Apply for Your Oklahoma Learner’s Permit
First, you must be at least 15 ½ years to apply for Learner’s Permit. Those with Learner’s Permit can drive with licensed driver over age of 21 years in car. However, you must hold Learner’s Permit for 6 months before you can graduate to next level of licensing. To get permit, you must first pass vision and written exam with DPS.
Requirements to getting a Learners Permit
In order to qualify for learners permit, you must be at least 16 years old and have parental permission to drive. And parent must accompany you on day you apply and sign application. You must first complete basic driver’s education and provide proof of completion when you apply.
In addition, you will be required to submit your birth certificate and two forms of identification. You will take written learners permit test and must pass in order to continue. There is $25.00 fee that must be paid at this time in form of check, cash or money order.
- Proof of enrollment or completion of drivers education course (if you’re 15 ½)
- Two forms of documentation to show proof of identification Visit this website to find a list of appropriate documents: http://www.dps.state.ok.us/dls/dlid.htm
- Your Social Security card
If you are under 18 years old
- Parent or Legal Guardian must be present
- Documentation of school enrollment or attendance in secondary or required Parent sign form for parent instructed driver’s education
Driving with an Oklahoma Learners Permit
Learners permit gives you permission to practice driving for 6 month period and you must be accompanied by licensed driver over age of 21 at all times. You must complete 50 hours of practice time on road, 10 of which must be night driving. You and your supervised driver will log your progress in Oklahoma Drivers Manual.
Practice as much as possible, as it will take at least 15 minutes of drive-time per day to reach requirement of 50 hours in six months. You can use everyday activities such as driving to and from school is an opportunity for driving practice.
How to get your Oklahoma Provisional Driver’s license?
In Oklahoma, getting your driver license is big privilege. Not only are you responsible for keeping yourself and your passengers safe, you also need to respect safety of everyone else on road. Only adult has to pass written and behind-the-wheel test. In Oklahoma, teens have to take few extra steps to prove themselves before they are handed license.
First step is to get your Oklahoma learner’s permit, which allows you to legally drive under supervision of another adult, licensed driver. Once you’re 16 years old and have had your learner’s permit for at least 6 months, you can qualify an intermediate license, which allows you to drive with some restrictions.
Oklahoma Provisional Drivers License restrictions
These restrictions apply only who are under 18 years of age if you are 18 years of age or older, you don’t have to apply for provisional drivers license and you don’t have to observe provisional license restrictions. At moment, provisional driver license restrictions in Oklahoma are as following
- You can drive without supervision between 4:30 a.m. to 9:00 p.m only or anytime with licensed driver over age of 21 years.
- You can’t drive with more than 1 passenger who doesn’t live in your home
You need to take behind-the-wheel driving test to obtain your intermediate license. You must have completed at least 50 hours of driving training on road, 10 during night with driver who has been licensed for at least 2 years and is over age of 21 years. Provisional driver license restrictions must be observed for another six months. Like learners permit, holding period is extended by another six months if you receive traffic violation. At end of holding period, restrictions are lifted and you are awarded with full unrestricted license.
What are Requirements for getting Oklahoma Provisional License?
In order to receive any type of permit or license, you must complete application process at your local Department of Motor Vehicles branch office. Each license has unique process but there are few general requirements for all types of licenses you must complete
- You must show required proof of identity and legal presence in US, as well as birth certificate with your full legal name.
- You must pass vision exam and show proof of insurance at time of application
- Pass written test and if under age of 18 or applying for special license such as CDL road test
- Pay required fee of $21.50 plus $4.00 application fee with check, money order or cash
Unrestricted Class D license
You must hold your intermediate license for at least 6 months to qualify for unrestricted license. You cannot get any moving violations during 6 months to get unrestricted license. You can apply for full driving privileges in form of Class D driver license. Unrestricted license allows you to drive without restriction, other than traffic laws of course
Until you are 18 years old, your driver license is considered probationary, even Class D license. This means that Department of Public Safety may cancel or suspend your license for any unlawful act, negligence, or misconduct while driving. So be safe and follow rules of road. . Contact your local DMV to apply for your full Class D license.
Renewing your Oklahoma Driver’s License
Your Oklahoma driver’s license expires every 4 years on month you received it and it can be renewed anytime within that month. Anyone wishing to continue operating motor vehicle on public roads must renew their license.
How do you renew Oklahoma Driver License?
You may renew your license in person at your local DMV branch. For persons who meet training, you may also renew by mail or online. You may make an appointment for renewal in person and come prepared to show your birth certificate and other required proofs for renewal. You will also be required to pay $21.50 renewal fee at this time.
Preparing to renew my Oklahoma Drivers License
If you are between age of 18 and 25, you must assure that you are registered with selective services before attempting to renew your license. Come prepared with proper form of payment for your 21.50$ renewal fee and assure you have your birth certificate, current license and proper proofs for your renewal process.
Steps to Renew your License
Depending on way in which you renew there are several steps you must take
- For renewal online, you can use online checklist and application link listed on oklahoma.org to begin process. Follow to complete and submit your renewal application and pay fee by credit or debit card.
- For qualified mail renewals, you will need to send letter to address listed on DMV website. Included in this letter must be your full name, date of birth and driver license number. You must provide out of state address to which you are staying and two copies of proof of identification. Your payment can be sent by check only.
In person, make an appointment by calling your local DMV branch. Your fee may be paid by check, cash or money. It’s easy to renew an Oklahoma driver’s license. You can do in person or in special based on eligibility, via mail.
- Bring a proof of identification
- Fee of $21.50 will be due
- Make an appointment with DPS
Out-of-State Drivers License Renewal
Are you living out of state and need to renew your Oklahoma driver’s license? This can be done by mail, but there are several things you need to know before renewing. Out-of-state renewal can be done up to six months before expiration date of license. To renew Out-of-State License you need to write letter to Oklahoma DPS which includes
- Your full name
- Date of birth
- Drivers license number.
- You also need to include both your Oklahoma address and your out-of-state mailing address, and two forms of ID.
How to apply duplicate Oklahoma driving license?
Getting replacement license for one that was lost or stolen is same as renewal. However, you need to request replacement from Department of Public Safety (DPS). For more information on replacement of Oklahoma driver license check https://www.ok.gov/dps/Renew_an_Oklahoma_Driver_License_ID_Card/Driver_License_or_ID_Card_Renewal_or_Replacement_by_Mail_When_Out-of-State.html
Replace Your License While Out of State
Currently you are outside of Oklahoma, you may follow procedure to renew or replace your license or ID card by mail. You may renew or replace your driver license if you’re driving privilege is in good standing. You can use this procedure to renew or replace Class D license or ID card only.
This renewal will make up to one year. Also replacements can be obtained any time during four year period if license is valid. Fourth consecutive renewal or replacement must be done in person. You cannot replace or renew by email or telephone request. Please send following details
- Full name
- Date of birth
- Oklahoma Driver License Number
- Oklahoma address
- Out of state or country address (where license is to be mailed)
- Two forms of identification (Copy of certified Birth Certificate, US Passport or Oklahoma driver license that is not expired by more than 3 years and copy of one of following Social Security Card, Military ID, Health Insurance, Card or Student ID Card. (See complete list of acceptable forms of identification at OK.Gov/dps
- Self addressed stamped envelope
Required fee, payable to “Department of Public Safety”:
- $38.50 for renewal (Check or Money Order – Cash Payment Not Accepted)
- $25.00 for replacement
By mail to
Department of Public Safety
Driver License Examining, Renewal By Mail
PO Box 11415
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, 73136
Changing your Address on your Oklahoma Driver’s license
Recently moves to new address, you can change your address on your driver’s license records either online or by mail. As per law, your address changed you need to change your address on your driver’s license in Oklahoma. You are required to inform in writing to Department of Public Safety within 10 days after changing your mailing address. This notification of your address change can be made by mail.
Online Address change on Oklahoma Driver license
You need to submit your address change request online by visiting Oklahoma official DPS website. If you have commercial driver license then you cannot use online system. So you need to visit in person to your local Oklahoma DPS office to address change. You need to enter your below details
- Full name
- Your Date of Birth
- Your Email Address
Oklahoma Driver License Address Change by Mail
You need to write letter requesting address change by mail that includes your below details and send it to below address.
- Your full name
- Your Date of address
- Oklahoma driver’s license number
- Previous address
- New address
- Pay required fee $25
Mailing Address of Oklahoma DPS
Department of Public Safety
Driver license Services
PO Box 11415
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma – 73136
What documents you need to bring to change the address on Oklahoma driver license?
If you need to change the name or address on your commercial drivers license you will need to apply for a duplicate. This can be done easily by visiting your local DMV office. You need to carry following documents when you visit to Oklahoma DPS office. Read for more details on change of address https://www.ok.gov/dps/Update_an_Oklahoma_Driver_License_ID_Card/Address_Change.html
- Your Full Name
- Date of Birth
- Your driver license number
- Identification card number
- New address as well as old address information
How to Get Your Oklahoma Driving Record
You can order your Oklahoma driving record by completing records request form and sending it to Department of Public Safety along with $10 for an uncertified copy or $13 for certified copy and personal checks are not accepted. You can send completed form along with appropriate fee to following address. For additional information, visit http://www.dps.state.ok.us/recm/.
Department of Public Safety
P.O. Box 11415
Oklahoma City, OK
Oklahoma Driver’s Manual
Oklahoma Driver’s Manual provides general information about rules of road including getting your license, traffic laws, violations and penalties and more. You can access Oklahoma Driver’s Manual online by visiting Oklahoma Department of Public Safety at http://www.dps.state.ok.us/dls/pub/ODM.pdf .
Oklahoma Driver Manual presents instructions and general information relating to operation of motor vehicles in state of Oklahoma. It is based on laws and regulations in effect at time of publication. Good drivers know, understand and respect laws and safe driving practices.
Schedule an appointment with Oklahoma Department of Public Safety
Scheduling appointments is one of best ways to save time at Oklahoma DPS office. To take your driver’s license exam appointment, check with list of official exam stations. If there is no list next to your branch, you have to visit directly to schedule your exam. DPS offers an online system, in which you choose type of service you want to schedule an appointment for. https://www.ok.gov/dps/Online_Services/Inline_Online.html
There are many option such as learner permit and motorcycle license. But not all locations provide this option and in many cases you will not be able to make an appointment. All of relevant forms can be found on Oklahoma DPS website take print out ones you need, and you have smooth and easy trip next time you visit DPS https://www.ok.gov/dps/
How to locate Your Nearest Oklahoma DPS Branch?
Oklahoma DPS is settling all of your automobile related needs. It is important that every Oklahoma resident become up to date with its processes. You can minimize time spent at DPS and Oklahoma DPS handles matters such license renewals, driving skills test and suspensions and rich source of information regarding traffic laws. You will take your Oklahoma Permit Test at testing center. You can find list of available locations near you by visiting this website http://www.dps.state.ok.us/dls/pub/DLES.pdf
Oklahoma Department of Public Safety Contact Information
You can contact customer executive which are available to provide general information from 8.00 am to 4.30 for Oklahoma Department of Public Safety from Monday through Friday. Check here to see list of our Divisions and phone numbers. https://www.ok.gov/dps/Divisions.html
DPS Customer number – 405-425-2424
Mailing Address of Oklahoma Department of Public Safety
Oklahoma Department of Public Safety
3600, North Martin Luther King Avenue
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma- 73111